Boards & Ambassadors Scope Group

Boards & Ambassadors

Scope Foundation

The Scope Foundation guarantees the rating agency’s independence, its entrepreneurial spirit and the long-term preservation of its European identity. The foundation consists of the Board of Trustees and the Honorary Board. While the Board of Trustees warrants the achievement of the purpose of the foundation - including the management of its assets - and ensures continuity among the shareholders, the Honorary Board provides advice to senior management.

Honorary Board

Prof Dr Horst Köhler | Scope Group

Prof Dr Horst Köhler


  • former President of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • former Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund
  • former President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Jean-Claude Trichet | Scope Group

Jean-Claude Trichet


  • Chair of the Trilateral Commission - Europe
  • former President of the European Central Bank
  • former Governor of the Bank of France
José Manuel González-Páramo | Scope Group

José Manuel González-Páramo


  • former Executive Board member of Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria
  • former member of the Executive Board & Governing Council of the European Central Bank
  • former member of the Executive Committee & Governing Council of Bank of Spain
Pier Carlo Padoan | Scope Group

Pier Carlo Padoan


  • former Minister of Economy and Finances of Italy
  • former Deputy Secretary General and Chief Economist of the OECD
  • former Director of the International Monetary Fund for Italy
Leszek Balcerowicz | Scope Group

Leszek Balcerowicz


  • Founder and Chairman of the Council of the Civil Development Forum (FOR) think tank
  • former President of the National Bank of Poland
  • former Poland’s Deputy Prime Minister and former Minister of Finance

Board of Trustees

Gerd Häusler | Scope Group

Gerd Häusler

  • Member of the Supervisory Board of MunichRe
  • former CEO and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Bayerische Landesbank
  • former Director of International Capital Markets department at the IMF
Simon Fraser | Scope Group

Simon Fraser
(Vice Chair)

  • founding Chairman of The Investor Forum CIC for institutional investors
  • former member of the board of Barclays Bank
  • former Chief Investment Officer of Fidelity International
Lorenzo Bini Smaghi | Scope Group

Lorenzo Bini Smaghi

  • Chairman of Société Générale
  • former member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank
  • former Chairman of the board of Italgas, SNAM and SACE and former member of the board of the European Investment Bank and Morgan Stanley International amongst others
Dr Johannes Fritz | Scope Group

Dr Johannes Fritz

  • longstanding Head of the Quandt/ Klatten Family Office
  • former Managing Director of SKion GmbH
Dr Dieter Schenk | Scope Group

Dr Dieter Schenk

  • Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Fresenius Medical Care, an international health care company listed in Frankfurt and New York
  • Chairman of the Board of Else Kröner-Fresenius Stiftung, one of the largest German charitable foundations
  • former Managing Partner of Noerr, a German based international law firm

Advisory Board

The Scope Advisory Board brings together internationally renowned personalities, who act as ambassadors for Scope in its mission to become the alternative European rating agency. The Advisory Board represents European diversity and its multifaceted financial markets and economies. All members contribute their reputation, network and expertise to strengthening the visibility of the European rating alternative.

Dr Peter M. Haid | Scope Group

Dr Peter M. Haid


  • Chief Representative of Oddo BHF
  • former member of the management board of Landesbank Baden-Württemberg
Prof Ewald Nowotny | Scope Group

Prof Ewald Nowotny


  • former member of the ECB Governing Council
  • former Governor of Austrian Central Bank
François Tesch | Scope Group

François Tesch


  • Chairman of the board of directors of Foyer
Janusz Reiter | Scope Group

Janusz Reiter


  • Member of the boards of e.g. SwissRe Europe
  • former Polish Ambassador to Germany and USA
Alejandro Fernández de Araoz | Scope Group

Alejandro Fernández de Araoz


  • Co-founder of the international law firm Araoz & Rueda
Luigi Dante | Scope Group

Luigi Dante


  • former Executive Representative BD for Italy with the EBRD
  • former President of the Association of European Development Finance Institutions (EDFI)
Dr Herbert Stepic | Scope Group

Dr Herbert Stepic


  • former CEO of Raiffeisen Bank International
  • Vice President of the International Chamber of Commerce Austria
Dr Michael Ollmann | Scope Group

Dr Michael Ollmann


  • Member of the Supervisory Boards at Talanx International as well as at HDI Global
  • different managerial positions at McKinsey
Panfilo Tarantelli | Scope Group

Panfilo Tarantelli


  • CEO Tages Capital (international investment firm in asset management and banking)
  • former Vice Chairman of Citi Europe
Prof Dr Mark Binz | Scope Group

Prof Dr Mark Binz


  • Founding and senior partner Binz & Partner
  • Member of the Supervisory Boards of Fielmann AG (Chairman) and Faber-Castell AG (Deputy Chairman) amongst others
Francisco R. Rey | Scope Group

Francisco R. Rey


  • Managing partner of Searey Investments & Financial Advice
  • former Global Head of Investment Banking BBVA
Torsten Hinrichs | Scope Group

Torsten Hinrichs


  • former Head of EMEA at Standard & Poor’s
  • former CEO of Scope Ratings
Zaza Beradze | Scope Group

Zaza Beradze


  • CEO Lysoform Group
Yaroslav Issakov | Scope Group

Yaroslav Issakov


  • Chain entrepreneur in biotech & medical treatment
  • former CFO and President Advisor of Transnafta